The Birth of 2007


new_year_2_wideweb__470x3050So this is the new year… I didn’t realize how poignant 2006 was for me until the latter parts of the year. “These were the best of times; these were the worst of times.” I guess that quote can apply to any year. As I turned 21, I realized that I was that there is constant progression in each moment. Nothing is ever truly stagnant; promises and permanence do not go hand-in-hand. You can take this any way that you like. It can sound quite pessimistic; but I find it liberating. Every moment I am changing – the year, my age… well, these numbers simply measure the changes to a certain extent. But, they are not the reasons. To me, it signifies that every breath I take welcomes a second chances (or third, or fouth, etc). Every move that I make can change the world in its own small way. It’s a very powerful concept, and I’m going to keep this in mind for 2007… a resolution, if you will.

Anyway, I had an amazing New Year’s Eve. I spent it with friends (new and old) experimenting with music, drugs, drinking, and laughter. Once midnight approached, we huddled together in the communal area and watched the new year shower itself into our mind frame. I knew I was thankful to know these people, to be where I am, to live. Last night actually felt pure to me; it wasn’t colored by dramatic outbursts, tension, and all those other nuisances that come with human interaction. Well, at least that I know of. What I felt was a great unity amongst everyone in a very special way. And if this sounds like a hallmark card, then I don’t care. Everyone should access to such a wonderful feeling.

-Originally Posted 1/1/07 on Myspace.com

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

