Wolf Like Me


werewolf_by_ginasa

“Say say my playmate wont you lay hands on me mirror my lady transfer my tragedy”

I heard it randomly some days ago, and I had no expectations about it at all. But, wow, did I ever feel electrified afterward! The melody is feverish, seductive, yet fleeting. It makes me uncomfortable, sometimes, because I want to shake loose my inhibitions… all of them.

“Got a curse i cannot lift
shines when the sunset shifts
when the moon is round and full
gotta bust that box gotta gut that fish”

It seems apparent to me that so many people go to extreme means to avoid “flair” and attention in an effort to appear rational, reasonable, nice. It’s far nicer to be nice, isn’t it? You can secretly insult your rival by smiling with a subtle sneer or lining the weight of polite conversation with bitterness. All the while we cast our judgments on the ones who speak and shout and make all the ruckus. The immature faces of Springtime fancy who jump on tables and engage not through etiquette but through passion, through fiery debates and steadfast opinions, through disregard of those cutthroat smiles and moral accomplishments. Some kill with kindness, others aim straight for the heart of the matter.

“We could jet in a stolen car
but i bet we wouldnt get too far
before the transformation takes
and bloodlust tanks and crave gets slaked”

Drama embodies the round fruit of life, skin upon the apple, delicate and necessary, to keep the pulp sweet upon first bite. Exposed to the dry air, it withers and is no longer delicious.

“Charge me your day rate
ill turn you out in kind
when the moon is round and full
gonna teach you tricks
that’ll blow your mind”

There’s something beautiful about that, is there? The drama of things, those heavy bouts of human nature that cause chaos and violence and obscenities – messing up our daily routine. It shakes us awake and reignites our senses. It propels us to act, to be on our toes. Too much of this is a symptom of paranoia and and an overgrown ego, perhaps. But, every now and then, we do have our tendencies, don’t we? We do have our ways of ruining other peoples’ lives… and getting our lives ruined as well.

“baby doll i recognize
you’re a hideous thing inside
if ever there were a lucky kind
it’s you you you you”

Not one of us are immune to it. And in our great state of civility, sometimes drama is necessary. Drama birthed art and ugliness; they are kin.

“Dream me oh dreamer
down to the floor
open my hands
and let them weave onto yours”

“Feel me, completer
down to my core
open my heart
and let it bleed onto yours”

“Feeding on fever
down all fours show
you what all
that howl is for”

“Hey hey my playmate
let me lay waste to thee
burned down their hanging trees
it’s hot here hot here hot here hot here”

“Got a curse we cannot lift shines
when the sunshine shifts
there’s a curse comes with a kiss
the bite that binds
the gift that gives”

“now that we got gone for good
writhing under your riding hood
tell your gra’ma and your mama too
it’s true, true, true, true”

“we’re howling forever”

TV on the Radio – “Wolf Like Me”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

